Hello…my name is TC Quill. I’m Apathetic.


You know, over the last few days, I’ve seen some pretty stupid news items come through my Facebook feed. A 17 year-old boy armed with iced tea and Skittles being shot dead by a nutcase with a cop complex. A lame bumper sticker. Anything from Fox News. Several good candidates for YMBOC.

Now, I remember a time, not so long ago, when any one of these would have elicited a full-blown rant from me.  At one time, I could have written thousands of words on any of the above-mentioned topics.

And yet…

Yeah, I got nothin’.

It’s official folks: I am completely apathetic.

I don’t know if it’s the weather, the fact that things are going well for me at the moment (still working on trying to enjoy that!) or what, but I can’t seem to work up a good lather over anything.

Or maybe it that fact that nothing surprises me anymore.

A politician said something stupid. The hell you say!

Someone did something stupid/cruel/horrible to another human being. Yeah, what’s new?

And he’s going to get away with it! See my last response.

Racism is still alive and well in 2012! Uh huh. I know.

Out civil liberties are being stripped one-by-one. Uh huh. I noticed that.

See? Nothin’.

Now, don’t confuse my apathy for lack of caring or concern. I do care, and I am concerned. However, railing about it just isn’t in me right now. It’s as if I’m in observation mode — just taking it all in, making notes as things unfold.

Cuz, I might not comment on it, but that doesn’t mean I don’t see it or have an opinion about it. I  miss very little.

I’m sure one day, something will click and I’ll be outraged, ticked and ready to denounce someone or something. But until then, I’m just going to sit back and take it all in.

Apathy…it’s an interesting thing.

Tagged , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Hello…my name is TC Quill. I’m Apathetic.

  1. jackvsage says:

    It’s not apathy as much as it is detachment. It’s a standard reaction to an otherwise shocking event. My understanding from friends is that after awhile, your mind defends itself from climbing into a clock tower with a high-powered rifle by disengaging your emotions until you can process the event.

    I am very sorry to hear about the young man’s death, and even sorrier that it’s main effect has been to shut down people’s emotions and allow this criminal to go free while the young man’s family, friends and allies mourn.

    • Uh, let’s get something straight quick and in a hurry: I’m apathetic about writing about it, not the situation itself. My feelings on the situation have been expressed repeatedly, I just choose not to make it a topic of my blog.

      And I know what I feel and what it is — I have had no problems processing the events. I just don’t feel any great need to write about them at the moment.

      At least I didn’t until your comments. Now I have plenty to say, so stay tuned.

  2. jackvsage says:

    I called the phone number for the Sanford Police Department, listed in the message below, and left a very thorough message stating that I am appalled and disgusted that George Zimmerman is still walking free. I have very close friends who have black male sons, and I have black male cousins. It is outrageous that Zimmerman is still walking free after murdering Trayvon Martin for daring to walk in his father’s neighborhood while black.

    From Jordan Christopher Diamant:
    Call Bill Lee, the Chief of Police down in Sanford, at +1(407)688-5070 and tell him how you feel about Mr. George Zimmerman’s recorded racial slurs and his walking free after admittedly fatally shooting unarmed 17-year-old Trayvon Martin at point-blank range in the chest. With a 9 millimeter.

  3. jackvsage says:

    Hopefully that will make a difference.

Leave a Reply

