Good vs. Bad Clients


One of my goals for 2012 was to have a better class of clients. I don’t just mean better paying clients, I mean clients who have a passion for their business like I do for mine. My other business has that built in — people request a piece of jewelry, I create it, they’re happy, they pay me and then I’m happy because I made something beautiful, and I got paid to do it.

I wanted that same feeling to carry over to my writing business as well, so that’s why I set out to get new clients. So far, so good. I’ve got 4 good clients, and I’m working on adding more daily. But there are still some bad clients in the bunch, and that annoys me.

So, what’s a bad client? Well, that’s really a personal assessment, but for me, a bad client:

* is a client who cannot tell you what it is they want. Some can’t tell you what it is they do. Seriously.

*is a client who promises to have info. to you on Tuesday, but doesn’t get around to sending it to you until Friday. Gives no explanation, but still wants the completed project the following Monday.

*is a client who balks at your rate.

*is a client who never pays on time. Once or twice is one thing, but consistently late payments is never a good thing.

*is a client that accuses you of stealing or outsourcing your work.

Now, granted, I have a lot less of these clients now than I did, say a year ago, but I still have a couple and I am taking steps to divorce myself from them. I have finally learned that I don’t need bad clients to be successful. I can hold out for the good clients. The clients that remind me why I’m in this business. The clients who make me want to stay in this business.

So, if you’ve got bad clients, keep looking for the good ones. Trust me, you’ll know ’em when you find ’em.

Tagged , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Good vs. Bad Clients

  1. Dwight Myers says:

    Very true! It’s also interesting that the more irresponsible they are TO you, the more demanding they are OF you. Subscribe to the “one in, one out” system. Get a good one, dump a bad one. It’ll make your work much more enjoyable.

    • You are SO right, Dwight! The ones that want the most are the ones willing to give the least — unless you count grief, and they’ll give you that ten-fold! I’m using the “one in, one out” system now. I’m liking it! Thanks for you comment! 🙂

  2. You hit on some of the most common problems I deal with when communicating with my clients as well. I offer Public Relations services, but it’s still very much the same. I’ve taken on a few new clients who really fit well with my business and I can already see such a stress relief in dealing with them.

    • It’s like night and day, isn’t it Stephanie? You see an email from them or they call and you don’t have to steel yourself for the interaction. It’s a good feeling, and I want more of it. Thanks for your comments! 🙂

Leave a Reply

